Top 30 Education Technology Leaders Recognized by the Center for Digital Education

Center for Digital Government

Sacramento, Calif., Nov. 17, 2015 Thirty education and technology leaders across America were awarded the Center for Digital Education’s Top 30 Technologists, Transformers and Trailblazers award.

This accolade honors K-20 education leaders who are morphing the learning landscape by utilizing innovative technologies to enhance the overall learning environment. The 2015 award winners were selected based on their efforts to improve education through effective implementation of technology rich solutions; their impact on student outcomes; and their overall initiative, creativity and leadership skills.

Digital advancements recognized include:

  • Using data to understand and address statewide education challenges, including increasing educator quality and retention
  • Closing the connectivity gap through creative measures such as outfitting buses with Wi-Fi routers, parking router-equipped buses in low-connectivity neighborhoods in the evening, partnering with a cellular/cable vendor to provide low-cost Internet service and coordinating with local businesses to provide students with free Internet access at their establishment
  • Monitoring public social media posts to ensure school and student safety
  • Developing a totally immersive and responsive learning environment equipped with mobile furniture, LCD screens, wireless projection, digital whiteboard painted walls, portable whiteboards, cases of tablets and more

“Our 2015 Top 30 award winners represent thought leaders and innovators in higher education, K-12 and the education nonprofit community, which offers sustenance and influence to the field of education,” said Dr. Kecia Ray, executive director of the Center for Digital Education. “I am honored to facilitate such an amazing community of leaders and thrilled to welcome our new award winners.”

The Top 30 Technologists, Transformers, and Trailblazers: See full profiles at

Dr. Darryl S. Adams, Superintendent of Schools and Servant Leader, Coachella Valley Unified School District, California

Chris Aviles, EdTech Coach, Fair Haven School District, New Jersey

Susan M. Bearden, Director of Information Technology, Holy Trinity Episcopal Academy, Florida

Gregg Behr, Executive Director, The Grable Foundation, Pennsylvania

Norman Bier, Director, Open Learning Initiative, Executive Director, Simon Initiative, Carnegie Mellon University, Pennsylvania

Gary Brantley, Chief Information Officer, DeKalb County School District, Georgia

Dr. Jeffrey Butts, Superintendent, Metropolitan School District of Wayne Township, Indiana

Alisa Chapman, Ed.D., Vice President for Academic and University Programs, University of North Carolina

Trina Davis, Ph.D., Associate Professor and Director of Glasscock Island, Department of Teaching, Learning and Culture, Texas A&M University

Julie Evans, CEO, Project Tomorrow, California

Dr. James P. Frazee, Senior Academic Technology Officer, San Diego State University, California

Dr. Randy Hansen, Master of Education in Instructional Technology Program Chair, University of Maryland University College

Ken Ingle, Chief Information Officer, Rowan-Cabarrus Community College, North Carolina

Pete Just, Chief Technology Officer, Metropolitan School District of Wayne Township, Indiana

Dr. Gary Lilly, Director of Schools, Bristol Tennessee City Schools, Tennessee

Jennie Magiera, Chief Technology Officer, Des Plaines School District 62, Illinois

Chris Malone, Assistant Superintendent of Schools, Revere Public Schools, Massachusetts

Michelle Murphy, Executive Director of Technology Services and CTO, Coachella Valley Unified School District, California

Doug Orr, Supervisor of Technology, Summit Public Schools, New Jersey

AJ Phillips, Director of Information Technology Services, Prince William County Public Schools, Virginia

Tim Renick, Vice Provost and Vice President for Enrollment Management and Student Success, Georgia State University

Theresa Rowe, Chief Information Officer, Oakland University, Michigan

Jay Rozgonyi, Director of Academic Computing, Fairfield University, Connecticut

Dr. David R. Schuler, Superintendent, Township High School District 214, Illinois

Kristin Scott, Assistant Director for Education Technology and Information Technology Training, Tyler Junior College, Texas

Jeremy Shorr, Director of Innovation and Educational Technology, Mentor Public Schools, Ohio

Dr. Scott S. Smith, Chief Technology Officer, Mooresville Graded School District, North Carolina

Valerie Page Truesdale, Ph.D., Chief Technology, Personalization and Engagement Officer, Charlotte-Mecklenburg Schools, North Carolina

UWM U-Pace Team, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee

William R. Watson, Ph.D., Associate Professor of Learning Design & Technology, Director, Purdue Center for Serious Games and Learning in Virtual Environments, Department of Curriculum and Instruction, College of Education, Purdue University, Indiana

Underwriters for the 2015 awards include CDWG, Pure Storage, LivingTree and Symantec.

About the Center for Digital Education

The Center for Digital Education (CDE) is a national research and advisory institute specializing in K-12 and higher education technology trends, policy and funding. CDE provides education and industry leaders with decision support and actionable insight to help effectively incorporate new technologies in the 21st century.

CDE is a division of e.Republic, the nation’s only media and research company focused exclusively on state and local government and education.


Margaret Mohr
Chief Marketing Officer
e.Republic | Center for Digital Education
916-365-7220 (cell)